Thriced: A 2018 36 Book Challenge

As we roll into 2018, New Year’s resolutions are abundant. Will you be working on working out, saving lots of money to take that dream vacation, or simply trying to live a better life? As Thanksgiving slowly turns into Christmas and Christmas turns into Valentine’s day, many of us abandon those goals before that gym membership hits your credit card.

More than any other goal plastered up on my pseudo-dream board, one has been there more times than any other: read more. Many people have it, but few achieve it. Maybe it’s because of the vagueness set in that phrase: read more. No one ever really tells you how to do it and that is the issue with most resolutions.

What should I read? When should I read? How can I make it fun? How can I make it a challenging, but stick to it?

That is where Thriced comes in. In 2018, I’ve decided to challenge these reading resolutions with a challenge of my own: read 36 books in 1 year.

That is about 3 books a month, about a book a week.

Each month the books choices will have a unique theme tying them all together.

At the end of each week, I’ll give a short honest review on each body of work and maybe it’ll encourage you to keep reading along too.

This isn’t your mother’s book club (though we #loveyoumommy).

bookclub

In the Thriced virtual book club, we will explore all types of authors and stories this year. Often there are so many voices out there are not properly explored and those are the types of people I want to hear from the most in this 1st Thriced year.

I want to read the voices of heroic women.

I want to read the voices of vulnerable men.

I want to read the voices of people completely different from me.

I want to read the voices of people totally the same as me.

I want to read the voices of imaginary goblins.

I want to read the voices of real life tragedies.

I want to read the voices of those who felt voiceless.

But mostly I just want to read and I hope that you’ll take this journey with me.

 

Written with excitement and hope by Natalia B.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thriced: A 2018 36 Book Challenge

Leave a comment